27
Mar
09

Pulling pig-tailed heartstrings in Ranma 1/2

feature1

ranma and akane ala romeo and juliet

The story of the boy cursed to transform into a girl and the tomboy who has to put up with him as her fiancee may come as one of the best comedy in anime. But while there is no denying that Ranma ½ is more than 100 episodes filled with slapstick humor, one may come across moments that breaks the laughter if not pinches the heart through.

TV5 has started a re-airing of this wonderful series from famous mangaka Rumiko Takahashi for new and younger audiences. As the series hasn’t gone far into into the story, one could expect to see more to the other side of Ranma ½ – a serious, heartbreaking one.

animeHOLIC dishes out some of the most touching moments in this one-of-a-kind gender-bending series.

An unexpected haircut for Akane
(Episode 9: True Confessions! A Girl’s Hair is Her Life)

akanes-hair-cut

By the end of episode 8, Akane and Ranma were in an argument when Ryoga, who’s been trying to get Ranma, threw an attack. The weapon hurled in the air like a blade and as Akane bursts her heart on Ranma, the unexpected happened. Everyone was in shock and Akane who had been growing her hair to become less like a boy and get Dr. Tofu’s attention had to let go of her dreams.

Akane misses boy-type Ranma
(Episode 49: Am I…Pretty? Ranma’s Declaration of Womanhood)

ranma-thinks-hes-a-real-girl

After accidentally hitting his head on a rock, Ranma began to act like a real girl. Being in his boy-type didn’t help at all, with him declaring his womanhood. As Ranma slept in Akane’s room, Happosai barged in to harass them but to no avail. Akane then confronts Ranma about being a girl. Akane was worried about Ranma not turning back into a boy. Who would be my fiancee? Though she didn’t say that, it was probably what she would’ve wanted to tell him.

Akane’s frog curse
(Episode 100: The Frogman’s Curse)

akane-turns-into-a-frog

In the last part of the fight between Ranma and Akane, and a man who was accidentally turned into a frog (by Ranma back in China), the “frog-man” splashed the last of his Jusenkyo water on Ranma to turn him into a frog as well. Akane didn’t allow it though and covered Ranma to receive the curse.

Ranma’s effort to apologize
(Episode 127: Akane Goes to the Hospital)

ranma-apologizes

When Akane was brought to the hospital after a gym accident, Ranma didn’t know how to ask for apology. Finally, he took a blanket and wrote a very sincere apology on it and waited as Akane walk out of the hospital in the morning. He even gave Akane a copy of her picture taken by Gosunkugi which caused the accident in the first place.

Ranma meets his mother
(Episode 161: Boy Meets Mom, part 2)

ranma-meets-mother1

After failing to meet his mother because of his own father’s efforts to prevent him, Ranma gave up on the idea and let his longing mother go back home. But as Nodoka Saotome accidentally gets caught in a burst of hot spring water, Ranma didn’t hesitate to go save his mother. The hot water prevented him from turning into a girl. In the end he had made his mother proud.

Nodoka dreams of her son
(Episode 161: Boy Meets Mom, part 2)

nodoka-dreams-of-ranma

Shortly after Ranma saved his mother, a sudden rain poured on them and washed his dream of seeing his mother eye to eye as a man. Nodoka woke up and thought everything that happened was just a dream. Nevertheless, she is proud of her son. Ranma stopped Akane from telling Nodoka the truth and let his mother think of him the way she just did.

*****JHAJR*****


25 Responses to “Pulling pig-tailed heartstrings in Ranma 1/2”


  1. April 23, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    its to bad that Akane”s hair cuts of at ep 9 i liked her long thick dark blue hair vary vary much ! now i hate her she always blanes ranma for everything and when the hair cuts of why in the world did she hit ranma for it?
    i mean it was not like it was ranma “s falt that her hair was cut of it was r riyga ‘s falut and then then she likes riyoga thats why i Hate her now ! why did they have to make her like that??????????????????????????????????????????????????

  2. April 23, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    if you hate Akane Tendo say i hate akane now who is with me?

  3. April 24, 2009 at 5:15 am

    ranma fan…

    I guess you’re one of those people who got the ranma-akane-ryoga-confused-relationship thing. Don’t worry, despite it all Akane stayed with Ranma.

    Now I’m sorry if I can’t say I dislike Akane. In fact, she’s one of the anime heroines that I’ve grown to like. She’s got some complexities and struggles that make her seem more than other heroines. Despite the tough facade, Akane has a soft inner self and that’s probably why a lot of guys like her.

  4. May 5, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I also have to disagree with RanmaFan. Akane is one of the best characters. I’m glad that her and Ranma ended up together. I like her hair better short too. She looks better and doesn’t look as fat. It also brings out her eyes a little more.

  5. May 10, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    i dont no but i still hate her

  6. May 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    akane is the scaryest anime girl i ever met

  7. May 10, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    she sucks at everything like cooking,swimming,and the scarf she made 4 ranma in the ova was hidiuos

  8. May 11, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    i think i agree with ranmafan i hate akane so much i want 2 kill her ! ranmafan i am with u 2 kill her !

  9. May 11, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    i hate dat dump akane ! she is a bad bad a**hole girl!! lol

  10. May 12, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Oh no… >sigh< such hatred for a simple anime girl…
    Well, we can voice our opinions so it’s perfectly okay
    (and it’s not like hatred for Akane would have any effect on her) 🙂

  11. May 13, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    at lest some1 agres with me !

  12. May 16, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Wow. Someone agrees with ranmafan. However, that person seems to have the same yahoo email as you RanmaFan. Hmmm…why is that???

    Maybe because they’re the same person!!!!

    I suggest you stop what you’re doing, ranmafan.

    Whatta loser!
    I guess you’re the only one who hates Akane after all…and it’s so sad that you seem to hate her so much when she’s nothing but drawing on paper.

    I’m not accepting Akane-hate-comments anymore! So take your hate over Akane somewhere else, m’kay?

  13. May 18, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    ranmafan….

    y do u hate akane tendo she is seems like a nice girl i agree with pepesan

  14. May 19, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Sheesh, I received a number of hate-Akane comments mostly from the one “loserfan” here who doesn’t seem to know how to spell english words. But I didn’t accept them and I never will so to those who hate Akane so much, I suggest you take your hatred somewhere else, bitter losers!

    What a bunch of losers. This isn’t even a “I-Love-Akane” or “I-Hate-Akane” article.

    Ranmafan, and to the bunch of losers who do the same thing as he/she does (although, for all I know it could be the same person – whatta major loser!) your comments will never be recognized. And pleeeeease Ranmafan, check your english!

  15. May 22, 2009 at 9:06 am

    (a reaction to “loserfan’s” newest comment. ain’t worth my time but I just felt I had to address something)

    Ranmafan, you just love to hate, don’tcha?
    And poor you. You have so much hate for a 2-D character, bitchin’ on it like it matters.
    And now…you say bad things towards “real” people.
    tsk tsk tsk

    I suggest you consult a psychologist right away. This could be anger management problem. ^_^

  16. May 22, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Oh, I apologize profusely for my immature actions towards Ms. Akane Tendo. Truth is, I like her very much. She’s my idol, my favorite anime heroine! I LOVE YOU AKANE TENDO!!

    (this comment is not RanmaFan’s original comment. I just figured that if he/she bothers me again with a comment that I would have to erase eventually, then I’d edit his/her comment with something that would put him/her to shame. Coz hey, the moderator can edit comments. So this is for you, RanmaFan. Sayonara! ~ pepesan)

    RanmaFan: I LOVE YOU, AKANE TENDO!!!!!!! LOVE YOU LOTS!!!!!!

  17. May 27, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    (comment here from Ranmafan – a very long one but filled with crap)

    Pepesan:
    Shut it already, Ranmafan. Ranma 1/2 had long stopped publication and broadcast, so sheesh (!) give it a rest!!! Seriously, you need to see a psychiatrist to vent off all your anger towards this CARTOON CHARACTER. LOL!!!

    Wow…it’s Ranmafan vs. Akane Tendo. Real mature. I wonder if Akane knows about this…LOL!!!

    No matter how long your explanations to justify your hate towards Akane, they’re completely meaningless! Unless of course you’re also a cartoon character.

    Ranmafan, GET A LIFE!!! Akane’s NEVER gonna know how much you hate her. You might end up going crazy about this.

    Yeah, I can imagine you on a corner of a room going “I hate you, Akane…I hate you Akane…I hate you Akane…” (how pathetic ^^) then you’ll end up a whacko, hoping that you could meet Akane personally to finally tell her how much you hate her. But I doubt something like that is ever going to happen.

  18. May 28, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    ok i ‘ give up!! u win better? happy? y dont we be just freinds

  19. May 31, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Don’t get me wrong. I’m not the one who came in with a bag full of Akane hate mail. I’m JUST the moderator and writer here…

  20. June 13, 2009 at 11:40 am

    hey!!! r u deleting my replys !!!its ok but….i never new u were da writer

  21. 21 i love rumiko takahashi
    June 16, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    whats all thi ruckus about hating akane? so s-t-u-p-i-d. she’s just a cartoon character.

  22. June 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    hey if your the writer did u write the story of ranma1/2?????? OMG :O!!!!

  23. June 17, 2009 at 4:24 am

    First you hate a cartoon character and now you begin to think I wrote the story… I say that’s brain damage already. LOL.

    If I give you a dime (or a nickel), will you go and talk to someone who cares?

  24. July 8, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Papansin ka talaga…nakakaawa ka. Get a life, dude!

    This has got to be the most stupid comment I’ve received (well, I guess Stupid is your middle name, right?) Screw you and your alter-egos (Pain).
    Sheesh, why do you keep bugging me…it’s like you just want my attention…don’t you understand how cheap and poor you seem to me now?

    Sigh…a dumb person like you should never use the net. ^ ^

    (Your next comments (as well as your alter-ego’s) will not be entertained again, okay? Coz I have better things to do…unlike you. Hardiharhar!


Leave a Reply

BLOGZINE: (n) blog and magazine combined

animeHOLIC Cover

not available
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

This month’s Questor Magazine cover

not available

hit counter

Who is Pepesan?

20 something year-old otaku from the Philippines. I love making up articles around the topic of anime and would love to be a part of a local anime magazine and so I put up this blogzine to try to hone any writing skill I have. Also, the Pinoy anime community is in much need of help right now and so this is but a small contribution from me. Thank you for the support so far!

Pepesan’s Twitter Birdy

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Proudly Pinoy Logo

Blog Stats

  • 666,011 hits

